About Us

The Utah Bar Foundation is a nonprofit corporation that provides funding to:

  1. Promote legal education and increase the knowledge and awareness of the law in the community.

  2. Assist in providing legal services to the disadvantaged.

  3. Improve the administration of justice.

  4. Serve other worthwhile law-related public purposes.

The Utah Bar Foundation was originally formed in 1963 by Calvin Behle, James E. Faust, Julius Romney, Earl D. Tanner, and Charles Welch, Jr.

In 1983, the Utah Supreme Court authorized the creation of the IOLTA Program. IOLTA stands for Interest On Lawyers’ Trust Accounts. This program allows attorneys to hold interest-bearing client trust accounts. The interest from these accounts is remitted at least quarterly to the Utah Bar Foundation and then granted out annually for the above-mentioned purposes.

Since the creation of IOLTA Program, the Utah Bar Foundation has been able to provide more than $5 million in grants for law related education and legal services for the poor and disabled.

Board of Directors

The Utah Bar Foundation is governed by a seven-member Board of Directors all of whom are members of the Utah State Bar. While the Utah Bar Foundation enjoys a good working relationship with the Utah State Bar, it is NOT a part of the Utah State Bar. The Utah Bar Foundation is a separate 501(c)(3) charitable organization.

Pursuant to the bylaws of the Foundation, Board Directors are selected by Utah State Bar membership. In accordance with the by-laws, any licensed attorney, in good standing with the Utah State Bar may be nominated to serve a three-year term on the board of the Foundation. If you are interested in nominating yourself or someone else, you must fill out a nomination form and obtain the signature of twenty-five licensed attorneys in good standing with the Utah State Bar. To obtain a nomination form, please call the Foundation office at (801) 297-7046. If there are more nominations made than openings available, a ballot will be mailed to each member of the Utah State Bar for a vote.

Peggy Hunt, President

Judge Royal Hansen, Vice President

Kristina Ruedas, Sec./Treasurer

Robert L. Jeffs, Director

Elaina Maragakis, Director

Walter A. Romney, Jr., Director

Timothy Wheelwright, Director

Kimberly Paulding, Executive Director